Halloween 2014!

For those of you who know me in real life, you all know about my love for Halloween. For those of you who don’t know me in real life, Halloween has always been my favorite holiday. I love it so much, as does my husband, that our wedding had a Halloween theme to it! There’s just something about it that I love. These days, spooks and thrills are my favorite thing about it, when I was younger and a fraid-y cat, I just loved getting to dress up in costume so that nobody would know that I was who I was, it was my chance to fit in for a single night and a chance for me to be me without being looked down upon. The fact that I’d get bags full of candy didn’t hurt matters, either!

I’ve always been a fan of the macabre and “spooky” things, even if they use to terrify me. When I was a young child, one year I went as Morticia Addams, and the following year I went as Lily Munster, two of my idols from two of my favorite shows (the original Addams Family, I’d like to add, I never liked the 90’s Addams Family until I grew up). As I grew older my costumes started to change into things that I felt like them being, instead of what my parents thought was acceptable. I even went trick-or-treating all the way until I was in 10th grade, but I went in full costume with my best friend, traipsing through our neighborhoods having a blast. My junior and senior year of high school were spent driving around filming terrible “horror movies” with gore courtesy of the Burger King condiment bar. After high school Dain (who was just my boyfriend at the time) and I bought a 1977 Chrysler Town & Country hearse for me – to go with his 1981 Cadillac DeVille hearse, naturally, and ever year since 2006, I’ve spent Halloween with Dain, sometimes our friends, and, as of 2007, two hearses, instead of just one. Of course, as years go on and you hold an interest in something, your collection of those things grows a bit bigger each year, and our Halloween collection is no exception!

Since I’m so fond of Halloween and our set up each year, I always take pictures to watch how it grows and look for ways that we can improve on it. Please forgive me for the not-so-great quality of these pictures. For some reason I refuse to use a tripod when I use my actual camera, and the pictures from my phone were seriously lacking this time around, when usually they’re of fairly good quality. I hope you can at least get an idea as to the awesomeness that is our set up! I’m breaking these up into two groups, pictures from my phone, and the ones from my camera. I hope you all enjoy!

Pictures from my camera:

Pictures from my phone:

Leave a Reply

